Batsman hitting first ball of a T-20 match for a six

There have been five instances in T-20 International cricket when the first ball of the match has been hit for a six. It does involve a lot of risk but batsman of modern generation don’t fear in taking risk. One of the batsman has even done this twice. Let’s look at all the instances when the first ball of the match was hit for six.


Kamran Akmal was the first batsman to hit a six of the first ball of a T-20 match. He did it against England in the group match of 2010 T-20 world cup, which England went on to win. Sidebottom bowled a short of length delivery first up and Akmal pulled it to the fine leg boundary for a maximum. Akmal was dismissed by Stuart Broad on 15 and Pakistan were restricted to a small total of 147.

England went on to win the match by 6 wickets by chasing the target with 3 balls to spare. England also went on to win the 2010 T-20 world cup and it was also the first instance of England wining any ICC event in the history of cricket.

England vs Pakistan scorecard


Karim Sadiq of Afghanistan was the second batsman to do so after Kamran Akmal. In the final match of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier at Dubai in 2012 against Ireland, Sadiq hit the first ball bowled by Rankin for a six. This was a shot ball which Sadiq pulled over long on for a huge six. Rankin took the revenge by dismissing Sadiq in the very next over when he played on trying to pull a bouncer. The first ball of the second inning was an extreme contrast to the one in the first inning. Porterfield was clean bowled by Dawlat Zardan of the first ball of second inning.

Afghanistan were restricted to 152 by Ireland with Mohammad Shahzad top scoring with 77 of 57 balls. Max Sorensen and Kevin O’Brien took 2 wickets each and bowled a very tidy spell. Ireland chased down the target in the 19th over with Paul Stirling scoring 79 of just 38 balls with a strike rate of 207.

Afganistan vs Ireland scorecard


Dwayne Smith hit the first ball bowled by Nathan McCullum for a six in the first T-20 of the series between New Zealand and West Indies in 2012. It was a stand and deliver stuff by Smith by dispatching the first ball to the long off boundary. He even went on to hit the 4th ball of the same over for six. He was then dismissed by Bracewell on 17 of 15 balls.

West indies went on to score a mammoth total of 209 with Gayle scoring 85 of 52 balls and Pollard scoring a quick fire 63 of 29 balls with 5 fours and 5 sixes. They went on to win the match easily by dismissing New Zealand to 153 and winning the match by 56 runs. Chris Gayle was awarded man of the match for his blistering knock of 85.

West Indies vs New Zealand scorecard


Dwayne Smith is the only batsman to achieve this feat two times. This is incredible as there have only been five instances of batsman hitting six of the first ball of match and it has been done twice by Dwayne Smith. It was the first T-20 of the series between England and West indies in 2014 . Smith pulled the first ball of Broad for a six over square leg.

Smith went on to make a quick fire 27 of 15 balls before being bowled by Bopara. West indies posted a target of 171 with the help of contributions from Samuels(69 runs of 46 balls) and Gayle(43 of 35 balls). England were restricted to 147/9 with Samuel Badree bowling an amazing opening spell in which he took 3 wickets and conceded only 17 runs. Tim Bresnan was the highest scorer for England with 47 runs of 27 balls.

West Indies vs England scorecard


Many of us would not have forgot this match where India was bundled out for just 79 runs. This was the first match of the 2016 T-20 world cup which was held in India. Ashwin was given the responsibility to bowl the first over the match. Guptill hit the first ball for a straight six over the bowler’s head. Ashwin took the revenge by dismissing him on the very next ball. Munro hit the fourth ball of the same over for a six.

India restricted New Zealand to a small total of 126 runs with Corey Anderson top scoring with 34. The small total became a huge total when India lost both their openers inside the 3rd over. Thanks to some brilliant spin bowling from Santner(4 wickets) and Sodhi(3 wickets), India was dismissed cheaply for 79. Dhoni was the top scorer for India with 30 runs. India was knocked out of the tournament by West Indies in the semi final at Mumbai. West Indies went on to win the tournament by defeating England in the final at Eden Gardens.

India vs New Zealand scorecard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s